DFO page banner

Distinguished Friend of Oxford Awards 2016

Eight volunteers have been recognised for their exceptional contributions to Oxford at a ceremony on Saturday 18 June at the chapel of Harris Manchester College. Presented by the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Louise Richardson, each recipient received an award as an acknowledgment for their time, expertise, and influence to projects and initiatives of significant and enduring value to the University. 

This year, the recipients included; Ms Shahnaz Batmanghelidj (Somerville College, 1975), Michael G. McCaffery (Merton, 1975), Gabriel Moss QC (St. Catherine’s, 1968), Dr Jin Park (St Antony’s), Professor Nicholas Steneck, Mrs Terry Slesinski-Wykowski (Pembroke, 1982), Mrs Nancy Brown (Somerville, 1980), and Dr Tan Yang (Templeton, 2005). 

Accompanied by family and friends, each award recipient received a formal mention from the Public Orator, Richard Jenkyns, and collected their award personally from the Vice-Chancellor. The ceremony featured music from a trio of undergraduates at the University – Elizabeth Nurse, Joe Davies, and George Needham – and was followed by a reception at the college. 

Director of Alumni Relations, Christine Fairchild, says: “This annual ceremony is certainly one of my favourites. It gives us the opportunity to formally thank a group of people who give tirelessly of their time and influence on behalf of the wider University. The ceremony itself embodies much of the ceremony and historical traditions that make Oxford so special; I know it means a great deal to the Award recipients and their families and friends – and it is a fitting way to thank a remarkable cadre of supporters.”

For more details about the recipients, please visit the DFO page.