OUS Australian Capital Territory (ACT)


Welcome to the web pages of the Oxford University Society in the Australian Capital Territory (ACT), Australia.

The Oxford University Society in the Australian Capital Territory was founded in 1959 with a committee of four. Regular meetings have been held since 1959. Colin Steele is the current Secretary, a position he has held since 1977. The ACT President is currently Professor John White, who received an Oxford University Society Distinguished Friend Award in 2007. Membership is largely drawn from academia and the Commonwealth public service.

There are currently two to three events held each year. Whether you are visiting temporarily, or a permanent Canberra resident, we encourage you to get in touch and come along. All are welcome.

Oxbridge Garden Party: Sunday 16 April 2023


The Oxford and Cambridge Societies of the ACT are delighted to announce an Autumn Oxbridge garden party for members and their guests, with champagne, soft drinks and canapes by the pool.   


Our guest speaker at this event will be Professor Matt Qvortrup, who is currently a visiting professor at the ANU College of Law.  Matt earned his doctorate in politics from Brasenose College, Oxford University and is an internationally recognized political scientist with a strong presence in the world of practice – in politics, diplomacy and in the media.  Described by the BBC as: ‘The world’s leading expert on referendums’, he has specialized in comparative politics and is the author of a critically acclaimed biography of Angela Merkel. 


Matt will talk about his journey from Brasenose College to Bougainville in Papua New Guinea and on his career as an international advisor.  Mixing anecdotes about, among others, Sir Isaiah Berlin and Mark Carney with details from his new book I Want To Break Free: A Practical Guide to Making a New Country, Matt will reflect on chance encounters that led to unexpected things.


Time:           3.00 pm to 4.30 pm

Date:           Sunday 16 April 2023


Address:     68 Empire Circuit, Forrest, ACT -  the house behind a high hedge on the corner of Empire Circuit and Wilmot Crescent  Please note there are three steps down to the pool area, and there is some uneven ground around the pool

Parking :     On Empire Circuit (preferably) or Wilmot Crescent (the driveway to the house has entrances on both streets)

Dress:          Casual

Cost:            $40 for adults, $15 for children under 16

Preferred payment for you and your guests is for payments to be made directly into the Oxford Society ACT account : NAB :  BSB 082 902, account 515068960.  Please provide your name as the reference.  Could you also please let Oxford Society Treasurer, Jim Windeyer, know the names of your guests at jbwindeyer@bigpond.com.

If you are unable to use NAB online and wish to pay by cheque, please send the cheque in good time because of postal delays.  The cheque should be made out to the Oxford Society ACT and sent to Jim Windeyer, 50 Golden Grove Red Hill ACT 2603.  


Payments must be made in advance, with the cut-off for bookings on 3 April 2023  So that the caterers can be advised of final numbers before the Easter break.

Jennifer Robinson - Meet the Author: Monday 17 April 2023


We are very pleased indeed to add on April 17 a new free event for alumni with international human rights lawyer Jennifer Robinson - details on the meet the author website or https://www.anu.edu.au/events/meet-the-author-jennifer-robinson


Jennifer, a distinguished ANU alumni and a Rhodes scholar attended the Australian National University, where she was awarded the University Medal in Law and was a Distinguished Scholar in Asian Studies. Jennifer won a Rhodes scholarship to Oxford where she attended Balliol College and graduated with a Bachelor of Civil Law with Distinction and a Master of Philosophy in International Public Law.


Jennifer is a barrister at Doughty Street Chambers in London, from which she has acted in key human rights and media freedom cases in domestic and international courts and worked with clients such as Julian Assange, Richard Dawkins and the New York Times. She sits on the boards of Grata Fund, the European Centre for Constitutional and Human Rights and the Bonavero Institute of Human Rights at Oxford, and is a trustee of the Bureau of Investigative Journalism.

Reception with The Hon. George Brandis KC

The Oxford and Cambridge University Societies (ACT) were delighted to invite members and their guests to a drinks and canapés end of year reception with guest speaker, the Hon. George Brandis on Monday 28 November 2022. George Brandis, a graduate of Queensland and Magdalen College, Oxford,  reflected on his time at Oxford and as Australian High Commissioner in London

Oxbridge Garden Party 2022

The Oxford and Cambridge Societies of the ACT were delighted to hold an Oxbridge Garden Party, with champagne, soft drinks and canapes by the pool on Saturday 26 March 2022. Members were grateful to the chair Harriet Elvin and Tony Hedley for making their house available for the event.

Oxbridge Garden Party 2021

On 14 March 2021, the Oxford and Cambridge Societies of the ACT held an Oxbridge Garden Party, with champagne, soft drinks and canapes by the pool. Alumni were joined by the guest of honour, the British High Commissioner to Australia, Her Excellency Mrs Vicki Treadell CMG MVO.


Thank you for your interest in OUS Canberra (ACT). Please get in touch with us if you have any queries. We hope we will be welcoming you soon to ACT events. Membership enquires should be directed to Tracy Cui: 


Professor John White, President:  john.white@anu.edu.au

Jim Windeyer, Treasurer:  jbwindeyer@bigpond.com

Tracy Cui, Membership Secretary: oxfordalumniact@gmail.com 

Colin Steele, Events Coordinator:  colin.steele@anu.edu.au