Buckingham Palace - with flower beds and the Queen Victoria Memorial in the foreground


Published: 25 January 2022


Share this article

We are delighted to congratulate the following members of the University recognised in the 2022 New Year Honours list.*

Knight of the Garter (K.G.)

The Rt Hon Sir Tony Blair St John's 1972 Appointed Knight of the Garter (KG)

Dame Commander Order of the British Empire (D.B.E.)

Dame Vivienne Cox St Catherine's 1977 For services to Sustainability, and to Diversity and Inclusion in Business
Dame Emily Lawson St Edmund Hall 1997 For services to the NHS, particularly during COVID-19
Dame June Raine Somerville 1971 For services to Healthcare and the COVID-19 Response

Knight Commander of the Order of the Bath (K.C.B.)

Professor Sir Christopher Whitty Pembroke 1985 For services to Public Health

Companion of the Order of the Bath (C.B.)

Mr Gareth Davies Christ Church 1991 For Public Service
Mr Mark Hutton New College 1978 For services to Parliament (Lately Clerk of the Journals, House of Commons)

Companion of the Order of St. Michael and St. George (C.M.G.)

Mr W H J Blanchard Keble 1985 For services to British foreign policy and national security
Mrs Samantha Job Christ Church 1988 For services to British foreign policy
Ms Vivien Life St Hilda's 1976 For services to Trade and Investment
Mr Benjamin Merrick Exeter 1993 For services to British foreign policy
Mrs Melanie Robinson Exeter 1995 For services to foreign and international development policy

Commander of the Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)

Mr Charles Alexander Worcester 1971 For voluntary and charitable services to the Arts, to Culture and to Health
Professor Myles Allen St John's 1984 For services to Climate Change Attribution and Prediction and Net-Zero
Ms Rebecca Ellis St Hugh's 1998 For Public Service (Director, Northern Ireland and Ireland Unit, Cabinet Office)
Dr John Fingleton Nuffield 1987 For services to the Economy and to Innovation
Mr Russell Hobby Corpus Christi 1990 For services to Education
Sir Laurie Magnus Christ Church 1974 For services to Heritage, particularly during COVID-19
Miss Kate Mavor Trinity 1980 For services to Heritage
Mr Richard Meddings Exeter 1977 For services to the Financial Sector
Mr David Raw New College 1999 For services to the COVID-19 Response
Ms Susannah Simon St Hilda's 1983 For Public Service
Professor Irene Tracey Merton 1985 For services to Medical Research
Mr Peter Usborne Balliol 1958 For services to Literature

Officer of the Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)

Mr Andrew Anson Exeter 1983 For services to Sport, particularly during COVID-19
Miss Kathryn Boyd Merton 2002 For Public Service (Lately Deputy Director, EU Secretariat, Cabinet Office)
Mr Peter Burnett St Peter's 1979 For services to the British Business Community in Hong Kong
Mr Robin Caley Pembroke 1980 For services to Tax and Pandemic Support
Mr Greg Childs Jesus 1973 For services to International Trade and to the Children's Media Sector
Dr Roger Highfield Pembroke 1976 For services to Public Engagement with Science
Mr Sharath Jeevan Kellogg 2005 For services to Education
Mr Justin Manson Trinity 1979 For services to Business and the Economy
Mr Jeremy Mayhew Balliol 1977 For Public and Voluntary Service
Mrs Lynne McClure St Anne's 1973 For services to Education
Mr Gavin McGillivray Keble 1977 For services to International Development
Professor Jonathan Michie Balliol 1976 For services to Education
Mr Mark Pemberton Worcester 1981 For Services to Music (Director, Association of British Orchestras)
Mr Imran Shafi Christ Church 2002 For Public Service
Professor Simon Wain-Hobson Merton 1974 For services to Virology
Mr Julius Wolff-Ingham Keble 1982 For services to Charitable Fundraising
Mrs Heather Wood St Catherine's 1975 For services to the House of Commons

Member of the Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.)

Mr Stephen Atherton Magdalen 1971 For services to British Education and Culture in Greece
Dr Keith Borien St Anne's 1996 For services to schools in rural areas of the Eastern Cape, South Africa
Mr Luke Collet-Fenson Trinity 2008 For Public Service during Covid-19
Mr Thomas Cookson Balliol 1961 For services to Education
Professor Richard Haynes Magdalen 1997 For services to Global Health
Mr James Hollow Keble 1997 For services to Education and the wider community in Japan
Dr Alastair Irving St John's 2006 For services to British foreign policy
Mrs Erin Kennedy Pembroke 2011 For services to Rowing
Ms Janet McDermott St Anne's 1978 For services to the Prevention of Violence against Women and Girls
Mr Avin Rabheru University College 2001 For services to Entrepreneurship, and to Digital Innovation in the Cleaning Industry
Dr Abdul Sesay Kellogg 2005 For services to Charity and Medical Research
Ms Nicola Willey Oriel 1993 For services to UK Science and Innovation overseas


*This list is correct as of 25 January 2022 according to checks against University records. If you notice any inaccuracies or omissions, please contact us.