view of oxford university radcliffe camera credit: shutterstock


Published: 19 January 2023



Share this article

We are delighted to congratulate the following members of the University recognised in the 2023 New Year Honours list.*

Knight Grand Cross of the Order of the Bath (G.C.B.)

Sir John Benger Worcester 1982 For services to Parliament

Knight Grand Cross of the Order of St. Michael & St. George (G.C.M.G.)

Lord Mark Sedwill St Edmund Hall 1987 Recognised for an exceptional and sustained contribution to public service

Dame Grand Cross of the British Empire (G.B.E.)

Professor Dame Hermione Lee St Hilda's 1965 For services to English Literature

Dame Commander Order of St. Michael & St. George (D.C.M.G.)

Professor Dame Fiona Murray Merton 1986 Recognised for a sustained and highly influential contribution to UK strategy and policy in science and technology

Knight Commander of St. Michael & St. George (K.C.M.G.)

Sir David Nabarro Worcester 1967 Recognised for sustained and exceptional contributions to global public health, nutrition and food systems.
Sir Matthew Rycroft Merton 1986 Recognised for his achievements in three top Civil Service positions

Dame Commander Order of the British Empire (D.B.E.)

Dame Nicola Dandridge St Hilda's 1978 For services to Higher Education
Dame Julie Maxton Associate 2004 For services to Science and to the Law

Knight Bachelor

Professor Sir Vernon Bogdanor The Queen's College 1961 For services to Political Science
Sir Christopher Bryant Mansfield 1980 For Political and Public Service
Sir Roland Keating Balliol 1979 For services to Literature
Sir Julian Lewis Balliol 1970 For Political and Public Service
Sir Martin Read Merton 1971 For services to Industry and for public and voluntary service

Companion of the Order of the Bath (C.B.)

Lieutenant General James Swift Christ Church 1985 2023 New Year's Military Honours List

Companion of the Order of St. Michael and St. George (C.M.G.)

Mr Matthew Burney St Anne's 1989 For services to UK cultural relations overseas
Mr Richard Graham Christ Church 1977 For services to Trade and Investment in South-East Asia
Mr Edward Hobart St Edmund Hall 1990 For services to British foreign policy and to National Security
Mrs Ailsa Terry St Hilda's 2002 For services to British foreign policy

Commander of the Royal Victorian Order (C.V.O.)

Mr Bernard Taylor St John's 1975 The Royal Victorian Order CVO

Commander of the Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)

Miss Clara Barby Lady Margaret Hall 2000 For services to International Sustainability Standards
Mr Octavius Black The Queen's College 1986 For services to Entrepreneurship, to Business, and to Life Sciences
Mr John Boden Oriel 1980 For services to Fashion and to the Retail Sector
Brigadier Benjamin Cattermole Regent's Park 1991 2023 New Year's Military Honours List
Professor Krishna Chatterjee Wolfson 1979 For services to People with Endocrine Disorders
Professor John Finnis University College 1962 For services to Legal Scholarship
Mrs Rebecca George St Hugh's 1980 For services to Diversity in the Technology Profession
Ms Suzanne Kantor Balliol 2002 For Public Service
Ms Andrea Ledward St Hilda's 1992 For services to the Environment
Ms Sarah Maclean Jesus College 1990 For services to Education and to the Covid-19 Response
Miss Catherine McGuinness St Anne's 1978 For services to the Financial Sector and to Educational Inclusion
Lord Neil Mendoza Oriel 1978 For services to Arts and Culture
Mr James Reed Christ Church 1981 For services to Business and to Charity
Mr John Singer Trinity 1969 For services to Business, to the Arts and to Education
Dr Philippa Tudor Somerville 1975 For services to Parliament
Dr Linda Yueh St Edmund Hall 1999 For services to Economics

Officer of the Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)

Mr Jonathan Arkush Mansfield 1973 For service to Faith and to Integration
The Revd Jonathan Ball Brasenose 1982 For services to the Royal Marines
Mr Marcus Bell Balliol 1985 For Public Service
Mrs Fiona Boulton Exeter 1985 For services to Education
Mr Justin Byam Shaw Christ Church 1978 For services to the community in London
Ms Jennet Davis Worcester 1986 For Public Service
Mr Geoffrey Hodgson Regent's Park 1980 For services to the UK Ports Sector and to the Economy in North East England
Professor Colin Kidd Christ Church 1987 For services to History, to Culture and to Politics
Mr Simon Mellor Balliol 1976 For services to the Arts
Mr Geoffrey Newton Keble 1970 For services to Sport
Dr Ann Olivarius Somerville 1978 For services to Justice and to Women and Equality
Mr Anthony Poulter Worcester 1976 For services to the Transport Industry
Mr Sonu Shivdasani St Catherine's 1985 For services to Tourism, to Sustainability and to Charity.
Dr Philip Souter Jesus College 1987 For services to Medical Research
Mrs Fiona Spargo-Mabbs Keble 1987 For services to Young People
Dr John Stannard Lincoln 1970 For services to Legal Education
Dr Jane Townson Philpott Keble 1982 For services to Domiciliary Care, particularly during Covid-19
Mr Charles Tracy Worcester 1981 For services to Education

Member of the Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.)

Mr John Alpass Exeter 1964 For services to the community in Claygate, Surrey
Mr Felipe Alviar-Baquero Lincoln 2005 For services to Charity and to Vulnerable People in Colombia
Mr John Bishton St Peter's 1953 For services to the Preservation of the Historic Buildings in Bruton, Somerset
Mr Peter Crawshaw Worcester 1970 For services to Athletics
Ms Joanna Dodd St Hilda's 1995 For services to Parliament
Dr Rupert Evenett Merton 1982 For services to Education
Professor Edward Harcourt Worcester 1986 For services to Interdisciplinary Research
Mr Dominic Jacquesson Balliol 1989 For services to Technology and to Entrepreneurship
The Revd Dr Margaret Joachim St Hugh's 1967 For services to Women in Politics
Professor Marian Knight Lincoln 1995 For services to Maternal and Public Health
Dr Joanne Lawson Corpus Christi 1998 For services to International Trade and Investment.
Ms Helen McAleavy Hertford 2013 For Public Service
Dr Joel Meyer Somerville 2000 For services to the NHS during Covid-19
Ms Christine Rice Balliol 1988 For services to Opera
Ms Rachel Riley Oriel 2004 For services to Holocaust Education
Ms Francesca Simon Jesus 1977 For services to Literature
Mr Anthony Willis St Edmund Hall 1979 For services to Young People in Surrey


*This list is correct as of 20 January 2023 according to checks against University records. If you notice any inaccuracies or omissions, please contact us.